The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe

Recipe #2: Lamb Roast

A little over a year ago I became an outbackcook‘. I use apostrophes because I really don’t know what I am doing most of the time and make it up as I go along. Although I do fancy myself a Master Chef when I wipe up a pretty flash meal like I did on Wednesday. Wednesday

Not only was it cooked to perfection, but said meal was also totally Strayan.

It started with a 2 kilo lamb roast and my utter dispair as to what to do with it – other than roast it of course… I’m not a fan of lamb, although having eaten it more since arriving in Australia it is starting to grow on me.

Which brings me to the part that proves this meal is totally Strayan.

I have been told more than once that lamb has always been very accessible to any Australian, rich or poor. It was more readily available than other meats such as beef. What’s more it always was cheap. I am not sure if that is still the case. What I do know however is that it is still everywhere, from sausage to roast.

Fun fact: Australians don’t eat kangaroo meat. The people out in the bush argue: “It’s road kill; it’s for the dog.” Many city folk have never eaten kangaroo or considered eating it simply because they are in the city.

It ended with a charcoaled lamb roast exterior – which is the oven’s fault, it’s a horrible thing – which only added to my dispair. Until the bf suggested I’d cut it in half to check out its interior…

It ended with a lamb roast that was still a little red on the inside (unintentional, but I personally prefer rare over well-done) and juicey. I had chucked in a bunch potatoes and pumpkin from the oven as well as lamb gravy. It was good.

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????The recipe for lamb roast à la me

Ingredients:

  • Lamb roast (our 2 kilo one fed 4 people easily)
  • Juice from 1 lemon, mustard, garlic & thyme (I can’t tell you how much since I just chucked some in a bowl and mixed it together)
  • Potatoes
  • 1/2 butternut pumpkin

What to do with all of that:

  1. Make carvings in roast with sharp knife
  2. Mix lemon juice, mustard, garlic & thyme together before rubbing it on the roast and filling the carvings
  3. Turn oven on low and slowly let roast for about two hours
  4. Prepare pumpkin & potatoes to preference and add to roast for about an hour with some water, wine (for taste) and spices

Let the enjoyment begin!

wine

– – –

I was so thrilled with the result I forgot to photograph it. How unlike me… 

– – –

Did it ever happen to you that something turned out alright after you’d given up hope?

5 thoughts on “Recipe #2: Lamb Roast

  1. Pingback: 1t5s: on make-it-yourself at home | oui depuis

Share Your Thoughts

